Indoor Sports

2023 FAI F3P World Championships for Indoor Aerobatic Models officially open

The 2023 FAI F3P World Championship for Indoor Aerobatic Model Aircraft are now officially open. Audiences will see 32 Junior and Senior pilots from 13 countries show off their aerobatic skills in two categories, to impress the team of judges.The competition is taking place in Jonava, Lithuania from today Monday 20 to Saturday 25 March.

Juniors and Seniors will compete in two classes:

  1. F3P-A: competitors fly a predefined sequence of manoeuvres to the highest degree of precision possible
  2. F3P-AFM: the aircraft follow a choreographed aerobatic flight, set to music.

The competition takes place in a modern indoor sports arena that offers ideal conditions for this type of aerobatic competition, with an available fly space of 49m (length), 24m (width) and 12m (height). All competitors had the opportunity to perform a lot of practice flights before the start of the Championships to adjust their flying styles to the size of the venue.

The Opening Ceremony took place yesterday Sunday at the sports arena and was attended by Local Officials. After the parade and the speeches, a local group presented traditional Lithuanian dances. The ceremony was preceded by the Judges Training Session and the Team Managers Meeting.

FAI Aeromodelling Commission (CIAM) President and Jury Member Antonis Papadopoulos declared:

“Congratulations to the organisers the Federation of Aeromodelling Sport of Lithuania and the Aeroclub of Lithuania for this well-prepared FAI event. I wish all the competitors the best of luck!”

2019 winners

The planned 2021 Championships in Romania had to be cancelled due to the Covid pandemic.

F3P – Overall                                                                                    

  1. Gernot Bruckmann (AUT)                   
  2. Donatas Pauzuolis (LTU)
  3. Julien Hecht (FRA)

F3P – Junior

  1. Maxime Schmitt (FRA)
  2. Andrea Cervi (ITA)
  3. Andreas Wildauer (AUT)

F3P AFM – Overall

  1. Donatas Pauzuolis (LTU)
  2. Gernot Bruckmann (AUT)
  3. Andreas Wildauer (AUT)

F3P AFM – Junior

  1. Andreas Wildauer (AUT)
  2. Maxime Schmitt (FRA)
  3. Andrea Cervi (ITA)

F3P – Team

  1. France
  2. Austria
  3. USA

Photo credit: Antonis Papadopoulos

Back to top button