November 27, 2022

Stewart-Haas Racing Team Member’s Tweet on Kevin Harvick Goes Viral

In any motor racing series, whether it is two wheels or four, the racer with…

In any motor racing series, whether it is two wheels or four, the racer with the most points wins the championship. However, from 2004 onwards, NASCAR decided to buck the trend. Instead, they introduced the Playoff system, then called the Chase for the Championship.

Safe to say, it has been a subject of much debate to this day and the reception has been mixed. Interestingly, a fair number of people believe that Stewart-Haas Racing driver Kevin Harvick is the biggest victim of this format.



Article continues below this ad



The 2014 Cup Series champion has been having a torrid time in the current campaign and the pressure is on. Considering that Christopher Bell is the 14th different winner, it means that just two spots are up for grabs.


NASCAR Fans React After Brad Keselowski Refuses to “Be a Jerk Over the Media”
Amidst Austin Dillon Feud in New Hampshire

4 days ago

Mathematically, it would be difficult for him to qualify, provided that there are no more new winners. So, his only option is to snatch a win at the eleventh hour.



How many titles could Kevin Harvick have won without the Playoff format?

Without the playoffs, there would have been different champions. Back in 2004, Kurt Busch was the first champion under the Playoff format. Eliminating the Playoffs from the equation, Jeff Gordon would romp to his fifth career Cup title. In 2005, Tony Stewart would have won the title, irrespective of the Playoff’s presence or not. The same applies to Jimmie Johnson for the 2006 season.

In 2007, though, it would have been Gordon winning his sixth title instead of Johnson’s second. For the 2008 season, Carl Edwards would finally realize his dream of being a Cup champion. Jimmie Johnson’s second title celebrations would be pushed back to the 2009 season. In 2010 though, Kevin Harvick would storm to his first Cup Series title under the old format. Carl Edwards would have taken a second Cup title in the 2011 season without the Playoff format in place.


Article continues below this ad


For the 2012 and 2013 seasons, there would be no deviation, and Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson would keep their crowns. In 2014 though, Jeff Gordon would have been the one to tie with Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt, not Jimmie Johnson. For the 2015 season, Kevin Harvick would have been the champion instead of Kyle Busch. Harvick would have done it again for the 2016 NASCAR Cup season.


Article continues below this ad

2017 sees Martin Truex Jr winning either way, but Kyle Busch wins in 2018 instead of Joey Logano. Busch repeats the feat in 2019 while Harvick wins in 2020. Finally, Kyle Larson would have won in 2021 without the Playoff format.

WATCH STORY: NASCAR Champion Kevin Harvick Reacts to UFC President Dana White’s Gesture